The Fold · Architects

Work News Information

Folding is achieved when place, use and materials vibrate in harmony.

Chris van Niekerk has 13 years’ experience in high-end residential and small-scale commercial projects. His B.Arch thesis was awarded the South African Corobrik award in 2003, the most sought-after architectural award at student level for the project entitled ‘Extraneousness’. The work was later included in the Royal Institute of British Architecture's yearly publication entitled ‘Visions for the Future’ in 2003. In that same year, he was awarded a scholarship for the MSc(Arch) degree at Delft University of Technology (TU Delft) in the Netherlands but elected instead to take up a position at (EEA) Erick van Egeraat Associated Architects in London as a Part II architectural assistant. In 2004, he moved to Cape Town, where he worked with Peerutin Architects in the design of several prominant mixed-use buildings and then later with Anton de Kock Architects gaining experience in the detailing of high-end residential architecture and interiors. 

The Fold · Architects, based in Cape Town South Africa, was officially founded in 2008 and offers full and partial architectural services, interior architecture and project administration, with projects undertaken in the residential, interior, commercial and media sectors. 

The practice received an award of commendation from the Cape Instutute of Architecture in October 2017 for House IIIA in Bo-Kaap, Schotchekloof and its work has been featured in two new books published recently by Gestalten and Thames & Hudson respectively.

The Fold · Architects is a corporate member of the South African Institute of Architects and the practice is underwritten by PFIRS professional indemnity insurers. Chris van Niekerk is a member of the South African Council for the Architectural Profession (SACAP), the South African Institute of Architects (SAIA) and the Cape Institute for Architecture (CIFA).

Collaborators: Ruben Rossouw, Gordon Hubbard
Past collaborators: Katrina van Hasselt, Adriaan Lambrechts, Leonard Miller, Pierre du Plessis, Belinda Chadwick